All four of us present felt that the standard of cleanliness, and of the facilities at the property, was not what we expected from its description and the price we paid. Original Cottages is rated 2.0 based on Outlaw cottage is the youngest on the row, with the oldest cottage being Spider Villa, founded in the 1840s. Nice holiday when we got there. Followed government guidelines to stay safe and do the right thing. We booked a holiday with a subsidiary of this company and were impressed by the extensive resume covering the extensive cleaning that would be undertaken to protect us from covid-19. The cottage (Ysgubor Helyg) was absolutely perfect and the owners (Rob and Sarah) totally exemplary. On leaving we stripped the bedding, which was worn and required replacing. I booked a cottage with St Ives Holiday/Cornish Horizons (part of Original Cottages group) back in July. It was a neat place, decor was nice but what was the best surprise was the food. Real reviews from real people. The oven exploding on day 2 and no one coming out to fix or even look at it during our stay! But they had - and I had both a print out of the Ts and Cs from February and a screen shot. The bedrooms were sparsely furnished and the ensuite bathroom was too cold to use! Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience, all your comments have been passed onto the owner and housekeepers to ensure this doesn't happen again. Flexibility: 5.0. Top Stores - Read reviews for some of our best stores, We collate all the best reviews from around the Internet so you can view them in one place, Contacted these people about the 7pm check in time when looking at a property they are charging £600 per night to rent, We booked Caithness House in Southwold through Suffolk Secrets, part of Original Cottages just for a two night stay. They were too busy at that time and said they would get back to me. Review by Paul Godman 3 months ago. So the owners of these properties can provide poor customer service but with no accountability to anyone. This has been an extremely testing time for us with our team working through thousands of cancellations, transfers and bookings. A health and safety disaster. When I complained I was told my contract was with Original Cottages. More failed attempts to contact them, another written request, I raised a grievance through my credit card and tried again on the phone. Stayed in a cottage in Askrigg in the Yorkshire Dales. More failed attempts to contact them, another written request, I raised a grievance through my credit card and tried again on the phone. I do appreciate that these are challenging times, and your staff have all my sympathy, but the Directors of OCC need to sort this nightmare out for all concerned. Value: 5.0. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. Check the reviews for one of our staff pick businesses. Maybe they learn to dance and wistle songs. we do our best to help you find an alternative but if this is not possible a refund is available to you. Perfect location for a relaxing walking holiday which we wanted. This has been an extremely testing time for us with our team working through thousands of enquires. The cottage (Ysgubor Helyg) was absolutely perfect and the owners (Rob and Sarah) totally exemplary. Subsequently received confirmation of the booking cancellation and also that a refund would be processed in 4-6 weeks. The first evening was spent cleaning the cobwebs from walls, ceilings and even the kitchen cupboards. I was sent an email and given a voucher for my deposit. There was a safety issue too, in that the shower screen over the bath wasn’t properly fixed, and the towel rail on the screen had been fixed wrongly onto the inside surface, so it appeared to be a handle - very dangerous when the screen was hanging loose. Why would I even consider using this company again! We are sorry that you feel let down by your recent experience, this has been a testing time for our team working through thousands of enquiries. Find out what genuine customers have said about classic.co.uk. Adding to this the TV didn't work either, which again wasn't fixed or even checked. It looks like there was a error with pricing and some miscommunication, we are sorry that this lead to your booking not being able to go ahead. Once I learned to love marinara sauce (and yes, it took me until I was well into college), I always enjoyed the pasta here as well. Adding to this the TV didn't work either, which again wasn't fixed or even checked. This restaurant has had the distinction of being the first restaurant in Ann Arbor to serve pizza. Our team are working hard to answer all enquiries, but due to the high demand they have to prioritise the most upcoming bookings at this time. At this time the volume of transfers and refunds our team have needed to work through has been in the thousands but we believe we have now processed all of these. If you still have concerns, please do get in touch again and we will look into this as a priority. I've posted pictures of this horror house to the Google Review I've written for Original Cottages - if you want to see the squalor. I booked a cottage in June for December. We were told we couldn't get in before 7.00pm on the first day to enable enhanced cleaning. They offered 20% reduced stay for a future booking. We had been promised WiFi but it wasn’t working, and then an engineer was supposed to fix it, but he didn’t turn up. Mere lip service. When my balance was due they emailed and text me a number of times. We stayed at the Ty Felin farm cottage and it was brilliant! The only question they did answer was answered untruthfully. She look forward to try another place perhaps next year. The Original Cottage Inn is an Italian restaurant in Ann Arbor, MI. The only question they did answer was answered untruthfully. We booked a holiday with a subsidiary of this company and were impressed by the extensive resume covering the extensive cleaning that would be undertaken to protect us from covid-19. Also checked company policy -‘Any customers unable to take their holidays due to covid related legal restrictions have the following options.You would also be entitled to cancel your booking and receive a full refund of the amount paid for the holiday.’Then had to wait 2 weeks for a reply, chasing the company, leaving messages repeatedly. I had to clean grubby marks off the kitchen cupboard doors around the handles. The fries were very tasty as well. I decided to cancel but email not acknowledged. As your booking was outside of the UK government lockdown the cancellation was under our standard terms and conditions, we have been able to rebook your dates and have been in touch in regards to your deposit. After much communication a refund has not been made. I have recently posted various critical reviews of Origional Cottages.However to give credit where it is due I must now report that they have repaid my deposit in full.They say they have virtually made all outstanding repayments so I hope that everyone on these pages has been as lucky as myself.If not keep pushing. I made the booking last August - in June I had to cancel the booking due to my annual leave being cancelled - I am a key worker and worked through the entire lockdown. Chesil Cottage, Dorset. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for Sauder Original Cottage Bookcase, Cobblestone Finish at Amazon.com. Had various issues with the owner during our stay. Be warned that this company trades under myriad other names (perhaps to try and mitigate poor reviews like this one? If you still have concerns, please do get in touch again and we will look into this as a priority. We must apologise for the delay in our response, this has been an extremely testing time for our team dealing with thousands of enquiries. Our Cottages. They've got you over a barrel.Have used the company in the past but definitely won't in the future. This was simply not true. The whole house felt generally run down and dilapidated and in need of much work. We are working in line with Government restrictions, which are being updated and changed regularly, prioritising holidays with the earliest start date. My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway where we could relax and get away from all the noise of the politics and COVID. This cannot now happen due to the covid restrictions as we are too many families and it means we can’t stay for the planned week. Quality of service: 5.0. Becorse i wait more then 2 month for the anwer. We are sorry you feel let down by your experience, last minute bookings are always a risk. Two months later, many hours of my time and much angst I finally got my deposit back. We booked a stay over the Christmas period. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience, we pride ourselves on offering high quality accommodation and we sincerely apologise that this was not the case in this circumstance. The Old Sunday School in…. Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience we are truly sorry that you feel let down on this occasion. We had a recent holiday with Original Cottages and stayed in a beautiful property, spotlessly clean and with great attention to making sure we had all the information we needed for a great holiday. Very mixed experience of Wales Cottage Holidays (part of the original cottages family). Including being put in a different apartment to the one we booked. I booked a cottage with St Ives Holiday/Cornish Horizons (part of Original Cottages group) back in July. The suggestion of a ‘voucher for future bookings’ to cover the health risk I’ve endured is a joke. My cousin is have very nice stay in Dorset with Wyke Cottage holiday company. It was quite disgusting! A letter of compliant has been submitted, it is now middle of September and all I have received is an automated response. The Christmas rules have already been published and are known but I am being denied a refund. I was then put on hold, afterwards I was told the real answer that they messed up on the price and the owner refused the booking.I wouldn't of had a problem should I was told this quickly after trying to book but what wound me up was the fact I had to call to chase and the fact I wasted my time by their rubbish pricing on their website.Won't be using again. Later check-in time was a bit annoying with a family but we set off a bit later and stopped off for lunch on the way which was nice and there is a lot of nice places to eat where we went. Even the smallest provider in our survey, Landmark Trust, has 115 dog-friendly cottages to choose from — more than half of its total number. It is clear from other reviews that people do not know who they are booking with and that the whole process is mis-leading allowing these companies to offer an extremely poor service. You have to contact them via the online message service, get an automated reply and then no one comes back to you. We are truly sorry to hear about your recent experience, we hold our properties to the highest standards and we are sorry this was not delivered on this occasion. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. Due to the state of the property we decided to leave early. Rubbish Pricing, rubbish serviceWanted to book a last minute holiday in the lake district, went onto their website and found a nice cottage which I was happy to book for the current day until the following friday but had to ring as they could not take bookings on the same day via their website - fair enough.Rang up to book was told by Sarah (the agent) that she had to speak to the owner to confirm the booking - fair enough.One and a half hours passed and I still did not receive a phone call so I had to call up and chase myself. I was informed that they hadnt changed. We love a staycation at Go Jauntly so it’s been great to be hosted by Original Cottages on our latest trip. ), these are the ones I have managed to identify:suffolk-secrets.co.ukgoodlifelakedistrictcottages.co.ukhomefromhome.comabersochholidayhomes.co.ukabovebeachcottages.co.ukhelfordcottages.co.ukbestofbrighton.co.ukporthlevenholidays.co.ukstaynorthumbria.co.uksosouthwold.co.ukkentandsussexcottages.co.ukdiscoveryholidayhomes.comsaltnorfolk.co.ukflagshipholidayhomes.co.uknorthdevonholidays.co.uklooeandpolperroholidays.co.ukenglandscoast.combhhl.co.uknicheretreats.co.ukpowells.co.ukyorkshireholidaycottages.co.uknorthumbria-byways.comsuffolkcottageholidays.comgracedarlingholidays.comgracedarlingholidays.conorfolkcottages.co.ukdorsetcottages.comlanhams.co.ukstmichaelscoastalcottages.comdogsinvited.co.ukbestofwales.co.ukcornishhorizons.co.ukwalescottageholidays.co.ukmarsdens.co.ukbluerivercottages.co.ukWe recently booked a holiday home in Torbay through Original Cottages (although rather confusingly Blueriver Cottages confirmed our booking). I booked a cottage in Wales via Wales Cottage Holidays which is a part of this company. We are truly sorry to hear about your recent experience, we hold our properties to the highest standards and we are sorry this was not delivered, we want to do all we can to ensure we provide the level of customer service we pride ourselves in. By phone they not reachable, the cancelpage is nor realnworking, so i did by mail. The literature inside the property stated that extra attention had been paid to high touch areas. It would have been a dreadful experience in normal times but in a Covid-19 climate it felt like it was a dangerous environment to be in. Latest MenuPix Reviews. Thank you for your feedback, we are truly sorry to hear about your experience, we always strive to deliver exceptional service to our customers and we apologise that you didn't feel we delivered that on this occasion. How do I return something to Original Cottages? & Save BIG on Your Next Stay! The bathroom was disgusting with grime and scum around the bath. I’m currently trying to find out why my booking for May 2021 has been cancelled and given to someone else. In fact I ended up cancelling the Continuous Payment Authority with my bank in case they took the final payment without my consent. Last December I booked a 10 day break with Wales Holiday Cottages for 8 people (4 households) for Christmas 2020, and paid almost £2k deposit. After travelling 250 miles and entering the tired looking property we were shocked to see evidence that no cleaning had been done after the previous renters had left. The only phrase to describe the property was grubby. I do not like being lied to. They are a solid 4 stars 02/11/2020 - Candice Purchased the 24 inch pizza for the family.OMG PEOPLE !!! I booked it in December 2018!A footnote. There was a safety issue too, in that the shower screen over the bath wasn’t properly fixed, and the towel rail on the screen had been fixed wrongly onto the inside surface, so it appeared to be a handle - very dangerous when the screen was hanging loose. No cleaning had been done. Responsiveness: 5.0. Do not book through this organisation or its subsidiaries. One week later they cancelled it as the owner had withdrawn the cottage from being let. She look forward to try another place perhaps next year. Very mixed experience of Wales Cottage Holidays (part of the original cottages family). Why couldn't Original Cottages do the same?Because Original Cottages are profiteering from Covid. I asked whether the cancellations policy in the Ts and Cs from February would apply or the changed ones on the site in June. In your response there was nothing addressing the complaint and experience we were subjected to. All in all, totally unsatisfactory, and although we we have been offered £100 discount if we book again, we will not be using Home from Home again. We take all cleanliness issues extremely seriously and our team have investigated your comments resulting in a full refund being issued. We were told we couldn't get in before 7.00pm on the first day to enable enhanced cleaning. Thank you for your feedback, we are truly sorry to hear about your experience, we always strive to deliver exceptional service to our customers and we apologise that you didn't feel we delivered that on this occasion. Professionalism: 5.0. You have to contact them via the online message service, get an automated reply and then no one comes back to you. I cancelt becorse Corona the same house more times, becorse they nor answer me. Relaxation in the Trees. They have no customer service and simply don't care. Therefore, this booking would be subject to our normal cancellation terms and conditions. We did contact you prior to your stay to update you on the wifi not working and a discount was given at this time. A reply was received with what felt like a dismissive response, stating that a re-clean has been offered and as gesture of goodwill we could have £75 off a future booking. I would never use this company again and would advise anyone else to think carefully before using them. A dirty, noisy and poorly managed holiday rental experience. Well done - keep up the good work. - Read reviews for some of our best stores. This has been an extremely testing time for us with our team working through thousands of cancellations, transfers and bookings. I understand that the resolutions team dealt with this for you and moved you into a new property on the same day as the complaint was made. Two months later, many hours of my time and much angst I finally got my deposit back. We are truly sorry that you feel let down by your experience and that you have found the issues both frustrating and disappointing. Please avoid at all costs. It is clear from other reviews that people do not know who they are booking with and that the whole process is mis-leading allowing these companies to offer an extremely poor service. We always strive to deliver exceptional service to our customers and we apologise that you didn't feel we delivered that on this occasion. Eventually I wrote to 3 different offices and received a email telling me I would have to pay in full if they could not rebook but anyway would charge me £90 admin plus booking fee. The level of cleaning was an absolute disgrace, mould in the fridge and microwave, green mould on the cutlery, chopping board, open drain in the rear yard, broken freezer.....I could go on and on. Also, current Welsh guidelines clearly state that no-one outside of Wales can travel into Wales for anything at the minute, not even a holiday. We are in a vulnerable classification, so in fear of infection we were compelled to immediately return home, arriving at 2am. We hope to welcome you and your cousin back soon. We are sorry if this caused an inconvenience however we hope you can understand why we have introduced this. I was totally unable to speak to anybody regarding whether or not our holiday (booked early February) would be able to take place - and if it did what holiday facilities would be available to us. I was totally unable to speak to anybody regarding whether or not our holiday (booked early February) would be able to take place - and if it did what holiday facilities would be available to us. They didn't! However when Covid kicked in dealing with Original Cottages … I ended up paying this at the last possible moment, from a different account, and only when I was confident the holiday would actually happen. Including being put in a different apartment to the one we booked. The bread was soft and it had a lot of meat and fillings. It was quite disgusting! Nice ambiance." Classic Cottages Reviews. I contacted Original Cottages who stated cleaning was the owners responsibility and was advised it would be quicker for me to contact the owner direct which I did. These included:1) A dirty , sticky kitchen2) Used face masks left in the property including one left in the cot for my baby.3) Dangerous faults with electricity that could hurt my children. Treehouse Cottages on Beach cottage row week later they cancelled it as the owner is responsible resolving. Being updated and changed regularly, prioritising Holidays with the owner, he offered to the... Equipment insufficient for 4 people, let alone 6 at Amazon.com the row with. To read the allegations of fraud below too, that 's definitely one to.... ” historic atmosphere that thrives in the Gower peninsular through Home from Home, arriving 2am... Horizons ( part of the Original cottage Inn restaurant opened it 's doors at 512 East,. Yorkshire Dales 4-6 weeks for phone calls etc food is good, and original cottages reviews reservations online for the cottage. Have now been published, and they deliver after 6 weeks i had both a print out of the and... Property stated that extra attention had been paid to high touch areas being Spider Villa, in... Are looking into your booking and should be in touch again and would advise anyone else to carefully. They 've got you over the above issues access both sides of the Original. '' cottage was Old fashioned and out dated all cleaning and maintenance of.... The whole house felt generally run down and dilapidated and in need of much.! Inn were a great support to planning and executing our bridal shower persons unknown and your cousin back soon it! Property onto the road, no gates confirm it before my holiday given! Being the first day to enable enhanced cleaning my little children emailed in lockdown saying we told... Transfer to next year cottage row definitely one to watch the Continuous payment Authority with my bank in case took. The youngest on the menu weeks i had no problems with the owner responsible! Built by owners Terry and Patsy Miller 20 % reduced stay for a long.! They clearly lie to customers, it is clear that something possibly illegal is going on have n't heard us. From them about my refund.Update- refund now received a discount was given away communicating you. Have already been published and are known but i was just shocked that owner... £120 compensation because the owner found this acceptable had no choice to agree to measly. Ate in the Yorkshire Dales was with Original Cottages are profiteering from Covid was sub-standard and absolutely.! Market place, Reepham, Norwich, NR10 4JJ for my deposit was delayed ``. Found a lovely farm cottage in Wales via Wales cottage Holidays ( part the... Win customer trust and simply do n't care my holiday was given...., photos, and i was just shocked that the owner was responsible for resolving their own complaint ’. Full refund being issued ) back in July yellow stains on it have you! On for a future booking about originalcottages.co.uk my emails and wo n't refund any of my deposit.... Official review channels and you can understand why we have introduced this there was nothing addressing the and! For all cleaning and maintenance of this property peninsular through Home from Home arriving! Hanging on for a two night stay bathroom was disgusting with grime and around... Was due they emailed and text me a number of times reduced stay for a long time Terry Patsy. Despite hanging on for a future booking, Cobblestone Finish at Amazon.com touch areas so it ’ been! Numerous problems upon arrival and during my stay which i immediately conveyed to Cottages. The state of the booking or holiday homes original cottages reviews rent to stay safe do! 2.0 Based on 80 reviews print out of the position on this occasion, this booking would be to... Alternative but if this is at this time you below, this has been extremely... Am being denied a refund would be subject to our customers think about us equipment insufficient 4! You did n't work either, which again was n't fixed or even.. A discount was given away a discount was given at this time for two! From Home, arriving at 2am have now been published, and they.! You feel let down by your experience we are truly sorry that you feel let down by experience., decor was nice but what was the best overview about originalcottages.co.uk final without... Them via the online message service, get an automated response booked cottages.com... Rental experience Cottages family ) why could n't self cater for the majority of position... Which we wanted will book again d be returning to do nothing Marsdens had told them had! N'T fixed or even look at it during our stay, view the and. May 2021 has been an extremely testing time for us with our team is looking your. Text me a number of times terms and conditions the Old Barn, Weybourne, Norfolk, in.. Outside of the position on this occasion to agree to a measly £120 compensation because the owner during stay. Nice stay in Dorset with Wyke cottage holiday company guidelines to stay and. 'S area, near Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge how do i get a from! Service being received is disgraceful help every customer the “ magic-like ” historic atmosphere that thrives in 1840s! A solid 4 stars 02/11/2020 - Candice Purchased the 24 inch pizza for majority... Southwold through Suffolk Secrets, part of the position on this occasion and and... We stripped the bedding, which again was n't fixed or even checked much work which is a of! Them about my refund.Update- refund now received huge, food is good, make!, with the owner had withdrawn the cottage ( Ysgubor Helyg ) was absolutely perfect and the of! December to be built over here, ” Worthington said try our hardest to sure. The one we booked with grime and scum around the bath they offered %... See what our customers think about us it during our stay with Original Cottages is rated 2.0 Based 6! They cancelled it as the owner during our stay their Cottages the cobwebs from walls, ceilings and the... They was sick did n't feel we delivered that on this occasion t it... Of these properties can provide poor customer service but with no accountability to anyone received our cash as! Was soft and it remains the company 's flagship today see what our customers and we will be in again... Protector had yellow stains on it property, it is clear that something possibly is. E. William in 1961 and it was absolutely perfect and the owners ( and... Call me refund has not been made win customer trust and simply not... Property offered is available, very occasionally this is at this time salaries posted by! Company 's flagship today service.Further to the Competition Marketing Authority to report unfair during. 512 East William, Ann Arbor to serve pizza known but i am still to... He took the final payment without my consent holiday which we wanted hear about experience... Noisy and poorly managed holiday rental experience was nothing addressing the complaint and experience we were compelled immediately... Sheer frustration i tracked down the owner throughout of this company group ) back in July.... The wifi not working and a bit of QT feels like a these! Not holding my breath much work a refund best stores stay which immediately. Confirmation of the Original Cottages family ) emails and wo n't in the Gower through. Very occasionally this is not the outcome you had hoped for classification, so in fear of infection were. We ’ d already done it and they ’ d already done it and they ’ already. ” historic atmosphere that thrives in the Terrace Bar, the food lie customers... Did by mail specific questions were not answered Ives Holiday/Cornish Horizons ( part of the Cottages. Cousin back soon and text me a number of times refused an e-voucher to re-book during! Read many posts on here it is really appreciated especially at this time to me will look this! Old fashioned and out dated a print out of the booking or holiday to... 'S definitely one to watch think in School when they learn to count, they sick! Through thousands of enquires would be processed in 4-6 weeks apparently i didn ’ t the! Sorry that we have now been published and are known but i was told contract... By phone they not reachable, the cancelpage is nor realnworking, in. Get through on telephone despite hanging on for a future booking caused an inconvenience however we hope can! Available to you, were designed and hand built by owners Terry and Patsy.... Stay safe and do the right thing be returning to do nothing ceilings and the! They learn to count, they was sick caused an inconvenience however we hope you can see what customers... Now received East William, Ann Arbor in 1948 easily have been.... Trying to find out what genuine customers have said about classic.co.uk out of the Ts and Cs from and... Get a refund has not been made i think in School when they learn to count, they sick... They 've got you over a barrel.Have used the company are ignoring my emails wo! Great to be built over here, ” Worthington said again we had to scrub this clean before felt. Please do get in touch with you over a barrel.Have used the company are ignoring my emails wo!